5 Things You Should Know About Schengen Visa

If you plan to travel to any of the Schengen countries, there are few things you should know about Schengen visa.

Freedom of Movement

The Schengen visa allows you to move freely between 26 Schengen area countries. The Schengen area member states are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Schengen Visa Insurance

It is essential for you to know that the travel medical insurance is mandatory for all travelers who plan to visit any of the Schengen area countries and that the minimum coverage is EUR 30,000. Also, travel medical insurance is valid for all Schengen area countries. With Evasan’s Schengen visa insurance your entire period of intented stay is covered and in case of visa refusal you will get a refund.

Schengen Visa Refusal

If you don’t submit all the required documents your visa can be rejected by the consular officers. It is important to understand why your application was denied in the first place because that can help you out the next time you try to apply for a visa. Have in mind that the reasons for refusing a short stay visa must be given. Also, you must pay attention to everything because there is no room for minor mistakes. Before applying you should check your application thoroughly.

Schengen Visa Categories

There are several categories of visa:

  • Short stay visa – allows you to visit Schengen countries for tourism, business or if you want to visit your relatives up to 90 days within a 180 day period from the date of first entry.
  • Transit visa – used for transiting through the international parts of airports
  • Long stay visa – issued for stays exceeding 3 months


Citizens of the following countries are exempted from a Schengen visa for a short stay up to 90 days or to transit the Schengen area: Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, El Salvador, Guatemala, Holy See (Vatican City), Honduras, Israel, Japan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zeland, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, Saint Kits & Nevis, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, USA, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Hong Kong – only holders of a Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Passport are exempted from the visa

Macau – only holders of a Macau Special Administrative Region Passport

British Overseas Nationals are also exempted from the Schengen visa requirements.

Travel Insurance

Schengen Visa

Please rate. Because it matters.

Evasan website rating poll